That one time I was in the right place.

Last week my sister and I met my mom and brother in Orlando for a little vacay. On our first night there we decided to try out T-Rex Cafe in Downtown Disney. I am a fan of the Landry’s family of restaurants (Rainforest Cafe, Chart House, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Claim Jumper, etc, etc) because of the ambiance, food and hospitality.

The restaurant was beautiful and – not surprisingly – elaborately decorated.

Slide1 Slide2

Shortly after putting in our order with our server, there was a loud noise and a lot of commotion. I looked up to see this:

FishTank_zps77ff0809

Crazy, right?

Y’all, water was gushing out of this tank. What do you even do in this situation?
Take pictures and video, right?

{Click here to watch the video.}

 I posted the picture on Twitter and the video on Instagram and then we set out to find another, drier and less hectic restaurant for dinner.

A few hours later requests for usage from local media began to trickle in.
You want to use my video on your 11:00pm broadcast? No problem. Here you go.
I did a phone interview with the Orlando Sentinel, exchanged emails with a few other local reporters, unplugged and went to sleep.

When I woke up the next morning, there were texts, tweets, Facebook posts and Instagram comments letting me know how rampantly the video and picture had spread.
Fox News, ABC’s Good Morning America, CNN, The Huffington Post, NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams, The Daily Mail.

I did a phone interview with Yahoo News and turned down a couple of on-camera interviews.
Friends from Brazil and Australia let me know that it had also made its way there.

My twitter account got 42,000 views last week.

Y’all that is just crazy!

Let me also insert here that I don’t think I did anything spectacular. The attention and congratulations from friends quickly got embarrassing. I just happened to be in the right place at the right time and then I tweeted about it. It is so intriguing to me how media has been influenced by social media.

So tell me, has anything crazy ever happened to you on a vacation?

Leave a Reply

